Borden duo picked up in Southern Smash draft

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldGreat Southern Herald
Captains and team owners for the four teams competing in the 2019 Southern Smash.
Camera IconCaptains and team owners for the four teams competing in the 2019 Southern Smash. Credit: Cameron Newbold

Borden pair Will Bungey and Mitch Smith will be part of the inaugural Southern Smash T20 competition later this month after being taken in the draft on Sunday night.

Bungey and Smith both play for Borden in the Green Range-Ongerup Cricket Association.

They joined more than 80 cricketers who nominated for the draft, and were worth 100 points to any team that selected them.

A brainchild to bring top level country and grade cricketers together for a two-day Twenty20 bonanza in Albany, a total of 56 players were drafted for season one.

Middle-order batsman Bungey was taken by the Inswing Inswingers with pick 41 and medium pacer Smith followed with the very next selection in round two, snared by the Camtrans Bulldogs with pick 42.

The Borden duo are among a host of country-bred players who will play in the Southern Smash. Lincoln Joy and Ben Sherry from Wandering in the Upper Great Southern Cricket Association found their way to the Inswingers.

Williams star Rodney Ford was one of 16 marquee players drafted.

Ford went at pick No.5 to the Inswingers while ex-Williams player and Albany product Julian Crudeli was the No.1 selection.

Crudeli will play for the Retravision Warriors along captain and younger brother Nathan Crudeli.

Boulder’s Bevan Bennell (Bulldogs), former Middlesex player Tom Scollay (Elders Avengers) and Albany product Shayne Wornes (Inswingers) joined Julian Crudeli as the first selections for their respective teams.

Before the draft, captains were allocated to each team. Nathan Crudeli will lead the Warriors, Coen Marwick will captain the Bulldogs, Inswingers will be led by Ryan Kinnear and the Avengers will be guided by Nathan Dovey.

Team owners for each of the sides are Russell Hare (Warriors), Geoff West (Bulldogs), Adam Pumphrey (Inswingers) and Neill Liddle (Avengers).

The competition will be played in Albany on December 27 and 28.

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails