Kojonup’s behind-the-scenes community champions honoured in awards

Headshot of Shannon Smith
Shannon SmithGreat Southern Herald
The winners of the Kojonup Volunteer Awards.
Camera IconThe winners of the Kojonup Volunteer Awards.

Peta Zadow has been named volunteer of the year for her work in the Kojonup community.

Last month’s Shire of Kojonup awards were delayed from National Volunteer Week in May because of COVID-19.

Ms Zadow was recognised for her efforts with the Kojonup Pastoral and Agricultural Society, and her commitment to the Kojonup Hockey Club.

Josh Webb was awarded young volunteer of the year for his work in sharing stories with the community through the Kojonup News publication. The Police Golf Day and Blue Light Disco was crowned event of the year for providing an inclusive and fun event which puts funds back into the community.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Jack Cox and Barbara Hobbs received local legends awards for working to preserve history at Kodja Place.

Judy Rodda’s dedication to the Kojonup Netball Club and Dawn Norrish’s 60-year commitment teaching at the Mobrup Riding School earned them lifetime contribution awards.

Shire chief executive Rick Mitchell-Collins said each of the recipients had helped the community greatly.

“The event recognises the outstanding contributions made by community volunteers either individually or as part of a community organisation,” he said.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails