New Great Southern Cricket Association season set to be a close one between six teams

Taj StubberGreat Southern Herald
Tambellup were the 2020 Great Southern Cricket Association champions.
Camera IconTambellup were the 2020 Great Southern Cricket Association champions. Credit: Liam Croy

Players across the region will strap on the pads and roll their arms over when the 2020-2021 Great Southern Cricket Association season starts on Saturday.

Tambellup, Frankland River, Broomehill, Kendenup, Wanderers and Australs-Woodanilling will compete in the same division across the first 10 weeks of the season.

The last three rounds of the regular season will determine the finals make-up and decide where each team finishes and who they play in the semifinals.

Teams that finish in fifth and sixth position will play each other in a B-grade grand final while the top four teams will play in an A-grade finals series.

Tambellup were emphatic winners over Frankland River last season in the A-grade grand final while Wanderers defeated Australs/Woodanilling in the B-grade decider.

GSCA president Jedd Herbert said he expected the season to be another close contest.

“Everyone is really keen to get back out there and play against each other,” he said.

“I think it will be a pretty even competition, everyone is pretty good and can beat anyone on their day.

“The biggest thing out this way is cricket, we don’t have forfeits which is great.

“I’m looking forward to the season starting, I don’t think there will be any imports which is a bit unfortunate.”

Herbert expected Kris Norris to have a big season after moving to Australs-Woodanilling from Tambellup while Shane Willmott has returned home to Tambellup and will play an important role for the defending premiers.

Tambellup take on Australs-Woodanilling in round one, Broomehill meet Wanderers and Kendenup and Frankland River will also clash on Saturday.

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails