WA Invitational XI name squad including Tambellup’s Nathan Willmott for Belt-Up Country Cup competition

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldGreat Southern Herald
Nathan Willmott is in the WA Invitational XI squad.
Camera IconNathan Willmott is in the WA Invitational XI squad. Credit: Taj Stubber

Tambellup spearhead Nathan Willmott has been named in the extended WA Invitational XI squad to compete in the Belt-Up Country Cup competition which starts on Sunday.

Willmott, the hero for his team in last season’s Great Southern Cricket Association grand final, has been included in a 22-man list that makes up the WA Invitational side but isn’t in the team for the opening round.

The 50-over Country Cup competition is played between Albany and Districts Cricket Association, Peel Cricket Association, Bunbury and Districts Cricket Association and the WA Invitational XI.

Albany and Districts will start the title campaign against the WA Invitational XI on Sunday, a match that was originally scheduled for the WACA ground.

However a Sheffield Shield match forced the country fixture to be moved to Narrogin’s Clayton Road Oval, starting at 11am.

Reigning ADCA premiers Royals have the biggest representation in the Country Cup squad with seven players named while Mt Barker have six.

Last season’s captain Mitch Green has been named while the Lions’ new recruit Matt France has also been included. Experienced WA Country XI cricketer Jeremy Wood, all-rounder Nathan Crudeli and recruit Nathan Poole head the list from the Bulls.

Albany and Districts will travel to Narrogin to take on a strong WA Invitational team that will be captained by Ben Payne.

Upper Great Southern quartet Rodney Ford, Perrin Quartermaine, Bailey Parsons and Kalan Joyce are also in the WA Invitational XI squad and have been selected to play this Sunday.

WA Country colts coach Ryan Hosking will coach the WA Invitational XI this season, replacing Tim Edmunds.

Hosking will provide an ideal link in exposing a number of colts players to a high level of representative cricket to aid their continued development.

Final teams for the clash have been announced.

ADCA squad

Matt France, Mitch Green, Ryley Valli, Ted Batchelor, David Brown, Angus Thompson, Jack Steel (Royals), Jeremy Wood, Nathan Crudeli, Nathan Poole, Alex Fergie, Noah Middleton, Nathan Crosby (Mt Barker), Seb Stanton, Charlie Walters (Manypeaks), Coen Marwick (Railways), Josh Dallimore, Dustin Boyce, Ben Grey (Collingwood Park)

WA Invitational XI squad

Ben Payne (Busselton-Margaret River), Jay O’Brien (Geraldton), Calum How (Newman), Michael Noble (Eastern Goldfields), Matt Carter (Eastern Goldfields), Jack Dawson (Geraldton), Rodney Ford (Upper Great Southern), Perrin Quartermaine (Upper Great Southern), Troyden Thorpe (Busselton-Margaret River/Scarborough), Luke Gollan (Avon/Claremont- Nedlands), Jacob Wagenknecht (Esperance), Haig Colombera (Busselton-Margaret River), Luke Gorman (Eastern Goldfields), Zak Italiano (Bunbury and Districts), Bailey Parsons (Upper Great Southern), Nick Taylor (Avon), Louis Page (Northam), James Courtney-Bennett (Busselton-Margaret River), Ethan Johnson (Geraldton), Nathan Willmott (Great Southern), Kalan Joyce (Upper Great Southern), Darcy Ingle (Geraldton).

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails