New faces join Shire of Katanning council as new candidates are all elected unopposed

Headshot of Tom Shanahan
Tom ShanahanGreat Southern Herald
Incoming Shire of Katanning councillor Matthew Collis
Camera IconIncoming Shire of Katanning councillor Matthew Collis Credit: Picture: Tom Shanahan

Nearly half of the Shire of Katanning’s councillors will not return after next month’s local government elections, making way for three new faces to take up the vacant positions.

Incoming councillors Matthew Collis, Adrian Edwards and Michelle Salter are set to be sworn in at a special council meeting on October 19 after being elected unopposed to a new-look seven-member council.

Kristy D’April was the one councillor who opted to renew her position and was re-elected unopposed, keeping her seat on the council until October 2025.

The three new faces will swap places with five outgoing councillors: Mark Stephens, Ernie Menghini, Martin Van Koldenhoven, Owen Boxall and Danny McGrath.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Mr Collis is set to take up Mr Stephens’ position for the remainder of his term until 2023, while Mr Edwards and Ms Salter will take up full-term positions until 2025.

The council will shrink from nine members to seven after the election.

Shire of Katanning president Liz Guidera farewelled the outgoing members at this month’s council meeting and thanked them for their service.

“This will be the final meeting for five of our councillors and I would like to recognise on the record their contribution to the community,” she said.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails